MTV’s Ridiculousness comes to Africa – Meet the Hosts

MTV Africa has been a thing for over a decade but viewers are still being given regurgitated shows with the word ‘Africa’ added to the end.

The latest effort in this regard is the African version of a show called “Ridiculousness” which shows hosts Rob Dyrdek, Sterling “Steelo” Brim and Chanel West Coast adding mock commentary to various viral videos from the Internet, usually involving failed do-it-yourself stunt attempts.

Ridiculousness Africa” will be hosted by South African actor and presenter, Thomas Gumede, alongside South African presenter Boity Thulo and Nigerian comedian Basketmouth BUT it will be taped on location in Spain where the hosts currently are.

*sidenote: Nomzamo Mbatha is currently in Madrid too so I wonder if she will be one of the show’s guests… Hmm?

19:15 in Madrid 🇪🇸 ✈️ #internationalplayawithapassport #madrid #thugthespian

A photo posted by Thomas Gumede (@thomasgumede) on Apr 26, 2016 at 10:14am PDT

 

Gumede claims to be the number one fan of the American version of the show.  “I’ve literally been glued to the screen since the first episode, so when I got the call it was like a summons from on high! I feel like I’m getting paid to do what I normally do – which is watch internet clips with my friends, and my co-hosts make my job easier because Basketmouth is funny and Boity is beautiful. We’re the dream team…” said Gumede.

🎉🎈🎉 #26🌟👑🌟 What a satisfying journey it has been. This is not the life I prayed for. I could have never imagined life to be this incredible. To have prayed for the life I live right now would have felt farfetched. Little did I know that God would do what He does best; bless me till I am left feeling unworthy of so much goodness. I am slowly but firmly shifting into the truest me and that is where all the magic happens. I am the best me I have ever been – physically, mentally and most importantly, SPIRITUALLY. I am at the peak of my gratitude to God. I am the closest I have ever felt to complete contentment. I am unapologetically ME. For the first time in a very long time. I will forever remember 26 as the year I learned who I truly am, took ownership of my Throne and finally allowed myself to Fall in Love with me. Wholeheartedly. Completely. FINALLY! FINALLY! 😍😍😍 #OwnYourThrone👑

A photo posted by Boitumelo Thulo (@boity) on Apr 28, 2016 at 12:30am PDT

 

His co-host, Boity, seems to be just as excited about the gig, stating “we’ve been having so much fun on set, and I’ve been laughing so hard my sides hurt! I love the fact that Thomas and I get along – not to mention the fact that he is also my height – so all in all it’s going to be a great show!”

A man on a mission.

A photo posted by Basketmouth (@basketmouth) on Apr 24, 2016 at 3:02am PDT

 

I’ve always been a huge fan of Ridiculousness, and I always dreamed of being a guest on the show, so it’s totally amazing to become one of the hosts. Just goes to show: dreams do come true!” added Basketmouth.

According to MTV News, “Ridiculousness Africa hunts the length and breadth of the internet on your behalf seeking out the weirdest, the wackiest, and uncontestably the most stupid stunts ever committed to video.

So, if you enjoy watching people being stupid and getting mildly hurt for it, Ridiculousness Africa is just the show for you.

Ridiculousness Africa will air weekly on MTV (DStv channel 130) from July 2016.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @mediagirl_za

 

Leave a Reply

