Escape Room Gaming Comes to South Africa

I could feel my heart beating in my throat as the LOSTLAND™ games master blindfolded my friends and I and led us into the unknown. It was at that moment that I asked myself “what have I gotten us into?!”

Before I could even panic, the six of us were separated and locked in two rooms in complete darkness armed with nothing but two torches, a walkie talkie and our wits in order to reunite the group and get ourselves out.

This was my introduction to the escape room game trend currently sweeping Asia and the United States. With over 40 escape rooms in Los Angeles alone, I now understand why people enjoy the trend so much.

The minute I read the invitation, I thought it was a pretty cool concept but nothing could have prepared me for just how awesome it would be to finally live out my spy fantasies.

Situated in Edenburg, Rivonia – LOSTLAND™ has been open for just over a month and their physical adventure games are quickly gaining popularity.

What is Escape Room Gaming?

“Escape room games are one of the few places where people of all ages can be together and enjoy being together without anyone being on their phone or distracted by social media,” said LOSTLAND™ founder, Virgina Shang, in a statement.

Shang first experienced the thrill of a game room while on holiday in China and decided to bring the phenomenon to South Africa.

LOSTLAND™ currently features three games; Prison Break, Castle Secret and the most difficult, Mission Impossible.

“They are perfect as a team building experience for companies or as a stag party activity.”

Each game was designed with the primary aim of promoting teamwork and co-operation and is designed as a fictional world spread over a series of rooms.

“You’re working against the clock and you have to use all of your senses to solve the challenges you face. It’s very exciting.”

Getting out of each room and moving to the next requires logical thinking and problem solving through a combination of physical and intellectual aspects and a lot of teamwork.

I chose Mission Impossible – not knowing that it was the most difficult of the three – and my team and I took a total of 1 hour, 35 minutes just to get out of there! It was time well spent, however, and I will definitely be heading back to try out the other games.

Each game can accommodate between two and six people at a cost of R200 p/p and I recommend organizing a team of six people, it will be more fun that way.

You can contact LOSTLAND™ on Twitter or via their website. You can also find them at their shop; shop 11, Rivonia Centre, 369 Rivonia Boulevard, Corner 11th Avenue and Rivonia Road, Rivonia Sandton.

 

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @mediagirl_za

One thought on “Escape Room Gaming Comes to South Africa

  1. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

